WEBINARS: free monthly workshops on hosting public issues forums @ your library

ALA Center for Civic Life Announces The Conversation Continues: 

Hosting Public Issues Forums @ your library

The Place Where Democracy Happens

Learn to convene and moderate community discussions in 4 free monthly online workshops presented through ProgrammingLibrarian.org with support from the ALA Cultural Communities Fund.

Getting Started

An Introduction to Convening Forums @ your library 

Tuesday, February 28, 4:00-5:00 EST; 3:00 – 4:00 CST; 1:00 – 2:00 PST

Register at: https://programminglibrarian.adobeconnect.com/_a840580820/gettingstarted-reg/event/event_info.html

Speakers and Topics

Why Now and Why Libraries? 
Nancy Kranich, Chair, ALA Center for Civic Life Advisory Committee

What is Deliberation? 
Patty Dineen, Public Engagement Consultant/Contributing Editor, National Issues Forums Institute Website

Success Stories from the Field
Carolyn Caywood, Convener, Virginia Beach Public Library Forums and Fellow of the Hampton Roads Center for Civic Engagement

Public deliberation is a process used to engage contentious, difficult issues from diverse perspectives. This session will provide an introduction to deliberative conversations that public, academic, and school libraries are convening and how these discussions are repositioning libraries in their communities.

Future Webinars

Moderating Forums @ your library–Nuts and Bolts 
Tuesday, March 27, 4:00-5:00 EST; 3:00 – 4:00 CST; 1:00 – 2:00 PST

Practicing Moderating @ your library
Tuesday, April 24, 4:00-5:00 EST; 3:00 – 4:00 CST; 1:00 – 2:00 PST

Convening Forums @ your library–Nuts and Bolts
Tuesday, May 22, 4:00-5:00 EST; 3:00 – 4:00 CST; 1:00 – 2:00 PST

For More Information, contact: 

Carolyn Caywood, cacaywood@cox.net; Nancy Kranich, nancy.kranich@rutgers.edu; Angela Thullen Baker, athullen@ala.org

The American Library Association’s Center for Civic Life, launched in 2010 with the Kettering Foundation, promotes community engagement and fosters public deliberation through libraries. The Center is building the capacity of libraries and librarians to help citizens engage in the civic life of their communities.